• İstanbul 9 °C
  • Ankara -3 °C

EU advises travel restrictions on 3 more countries

EU advises travel restrictions on 3 more countries
Member states advised to close borders to Canada, Georgia, Tunisia

By Ata Ufuk Seker

BRUSSELS (AA) – The EU on Thursday advised member states to close their borders to Canada, Georgia, and Tunisia as a part of coronavirus measures.

The European Council updated its list of third countries for which travel restrictions are advised to be lifted.

“Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the recommendation, as from 22 October member states should gradually lift the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries: Australia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, and Uruguay,” said a statement.

“China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity. Travel restrictions should also be gradually lifted for the special administrative regions of China Hong Kong and Macao, subject to confirmation of reciprocity,” it added.

The list will be updated depending on the situation in those third countries in terms of the number of COVID-19 cases and measures taken.

In March, the EU recommended restrictions on non-essential travel for 27-member states and Schengen associated countries -- Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland -- to stem the spread of the coronavirus.

The list is not binding for member states but in the nature of recommendation.

*Writing and contribution by Busra Nur Bilgic Cakmak

source: News Feed
This news is a total 25 time has been read
UYARI: Küfür, hakaret, rencide edici cümleler veya imalar, inançlara saldırı içeren, imla kuralları ile yazılmamış,
Türkçe karakter kullanılmayan ve büyük harflerle yazılmış yorumlar onaylanmamaktadır.
This news yet comment has been added .
Other News
All Rights Reserved © May 2014 US Muslims | Unauthorized and the resources published.
Haber Scripti: CM Bilişim