• İstanbul 20 °C
  • Ankara 18 °C

Football: Real Madrid’s Modric wins 2018 Ballon d'Or

Football: Real Madrid’s Modric wins 2018 Ballon d'Or
Croatian midfielder clinches award first time after Messi and Ronaldo dominated it over last 10 years

By Fatih Erel

ISTANBUL (AA) - Real Madrid's Croatian midfielder Luka Modric won the 2018 Ballon d'Or award for the best player of the year.

33-year-old footballer won the award for the first time and he became the third player to claim the award after Barcelona's Lionel Messi and Juventus' Cristiano Ronaldo in a decade.

Since 2008, Messi and Ronaldo won the award 5 times each.

Each year, France Football magazine awards its Ballon d'Or trophy to the world's best football player.

Ballon d'Or was organized by FIFA and France Football until 2015 but they split and FIFA set up its own awards since 2016.

Modric also won FIFA award for best men's player of the year and UEFA Men's Player of the Year award in 2018.

Modric won his third UEFA Champions League in May and played in Croatia to help his team to reach their first World Cup final.

source: News Feed
This news is a total 52 time has been read
UYARI: Küfür, hakaret, rencide edici cümleler veya imalar, inançlara saldırı içeren, imla kuralları ile yazılmamış,
Türkçe karakter kullanılmayan ve büyük harflerle yazılmış yorumlar onaylanmamaktadır.
This news yet comment has been added .
Other News
All Rights Reserved © May 2014 US Muslims | Unauthorized and the resources published.
Haber Scripti: CM Bilişim