• İstanbul 18 °C
  • Ankara 15 °C

Kuwait announces parliamentary election results

Kuwait announces parliamentary election results
Only 19 members reelected, no woman candidate could make it to parliament

KUWAIT CITY (AA) - Kuwait's electoral committees announced on Sunday winners of 2020 parliamentary elections in five electoral districts held yesterday, according to the Kuwaiti News Agency.

The results of the 50-member unicameral National Assembly, which is directly elected every four years, were surprising as it led to all-male parliament and several previous lawmakers lost their seats.

None of the women candidates could make it to the assembly, while only 19 former members were reelected. As many as 326 candidates competed in the polls.

Strict anti-coronavirus measures were in place at the polling stations. The voting process started at 8 a.m (0500 GMT), and continued until 8 p.m. (1700 GMT).

Kuwaiti Emir Sheikh Nawaf Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah congratulated the winners, and issued a decree to hold the first regular session of the parliament's 16th legislative term on Dec. 15.

Meanwhile, as per protocol, Prime Minister Sheikh Sabah Khaled Al-Hamad Al-Sabah tendered resignation along with his Cabinet.

The polls were the first since the new emir took office in September following the death of his half-brother, Sheikh Sabah al-Ahmad Al-Sabah, at age 91.

Political parties are banned in Kuwait, which adopted a parliamentary system in 1962.

Power remains concentrated in the royal family, and the emir chooses the prime minister and 15 of the 16 ministerial posts.

*Ahmed Asmar contributed to this report from Ankara

source: News Feed
This news is a total 80 time has been read
UYARI: Küfür, hakaret, rencide edici cümleler veya imalar, inançlara saldırı içeren, imla kuralları ile yazılmamış,
Türkçe karakter kullanılmayan ve büyük harflerle yazılmış yorumlar onaylanmamaktadır.
This news yet comment has been added .
Other News
All Rights Reserved © May 2014 US Muslims | Unauthorized and the resources published.
Haber Scripti: CM Bilişim