• İstanbul -1 °C
  • Ankara -5 °C

Longest 'almost total' lunar eclipse to occur Friday

Longest 'almost total' lunar eclipse to occur Friday
With 3 hour and 28 minute duration, it will be longest eclipse seen in nearly 600 years, says US space agency

By Beyza Binnur Donmez

ANKARA (AA) - The longest and "almost total" lunar eclipse will be witnessed Friday, according to the US space agency NASA.

The Moon will move into the Earth's shadow overnight, turning red as the only sunlight reaching it passes through the Earth's atmosphere.

"The more dust or clouds in the Earth’s atmosphere during the eclipse, the redder the Moon will appear," NASA said.

It is expected to hold the position for three hours and 28 minutes, which will make it the longest eclipse in 580 years, NASA added.

NASA called it "almost total" as up to 99.1% of the Moon’s disk will be within Earth’s umbra.

The eclipse will be visible in all of North America, as well as large parts of South America, Polynesia, eastern Australia, and northeastern Asia.

The best viewing will be around the peak of the eclipse, which will be at 9.03 UTC (0903GMT)/4.03 a.m. EDT/1.03 a.m. PDT.

source: News Feed
This news is a total 32 time has been read
UYARI: Küfür, hakaret, rencide edici cümleler veya imalar, inançlara saldırı içeren, imla kuralları ile yazılmamış,
Türkçe karakter kullanılmayan ve büyük harflerle yazılmış yorumlar onaylanmamaktadır.
This news yet comment has been added .
Other News
All Rights Reserved © May 2014 US Muslims | Unauthorized and the resources published.
Haber Scripti: CM Bilişim