A first-time winner to hoist 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup

A first-time winner to hoist 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup

Semifinalists Spain, Sweden, England, Australia have never won the trophy before

By Selcuk Bugra Gokalp

A first-time winner will hoist the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup, as none of the four semifinalists have ever won the trophy.

Spain, Sweden, England and Australia will clash for their maiden Women's World Cup trophy.

- Spain

Spain's most significant success in the competition history so far is their semifinal achievement in 2023, but that doesn't mean they are underachievers.

Spain has been an emerging power in women's football in recent years with their star players such as the reigning Ballon d'Or winner Alexis Putellas, the UEFA Women's Champions League player of the 2022-23 season Aitana Bonmati and Irene Paredes, who was voted for the Women's Champions League team of the 2022-23 season.

Spain competed in Group C and reached a round of 16 along with former world champions Japan.

They hammered Switzerland 5-1 in the quarterfinals, then came out on top in the semifinal clash against the Netherlands.

- Sweden

Sweden is a regular team in FIFA Women's World Cup competition, as they have competed in all nine World Cup finals.

Swedish women finished the competition as bronze medalists three times in their history, the first being in 1991, the second in 2003 and the last in 2011.

Sweden has come strong so far as have knocked out two defending champions, the US and Japan, in the round of 16 and quarterfinals, respectively.

Defender Amanda Ilestedt is only one goal away from becoming co-top scorer of the competition, as the current leader of the list is Japan's Hinata Miyazawa with five goals.

Spain will face Sweden in the semifinal clash on Tuesday.

- Australia

Australia is among the traditional teams of the competition, as they have competed in all eight, except the first one in 1991.

By eliminating France in the quarterfinal round, the current hosts seemed to beat the so-called "curse", which caused host nations to be knocked out in quarterfinals such as Sweden in 1995, Canada in 2015 and France in 2019.

Despite mainly playing without their star Samantha Kerr, Australia has already made history by coming this far in the competition.

- England

The reigning European Champions, England, have reached their second World Cup semifinals.

Despite losing the co-assist leader of the competition, Lauren James, to a red card suspension in the upcoming semifinal clash, England still has one of the best goalkeepers in women's football, Mary Earps.

England will take on Australia in the semifinal round on Wednesday.

The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup will conclude with the final on Aug. 20.

Kaynak:Source of News

This news has been read 32 times in total

UYARI: Küfür, hakaret, rencide edici cümleler veya imalar, inançlara saldırı içeren, imla kuralları ile yazılmamış,
Türkçe karakter kullanılmayan ve büyük harflerle yazılmış yorumlar onaylanmamaktadır.
Previous and Next News