• İstanbul 9 °C
  • Ankara 0 °C

Croatia draw with Belgium but reach last 16 in 2022 FIFA World Cup

Croatia draw with Belgium but reach last 16 in 2022 FIFA World Cup
Goalless draw sends Croatia to next stage, Belgium exit Qatar 2022

By Selcuk Bugra Gokalp

ANKARA (AA) - Croatia on Thursday drew with Belgium 0-0 in Group F but reached the Round of 16 in the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

Third-place Belgium, who were the 2018 World Cup bronze medalists, have been eliminated from Qatar 2022.

Belgium manager Roberto Martinez stepped down from his post after the elimination.

"This was my last game as national coach," Spanish coach said and added: "I don't resign. It's the end of my contract."

The 2018 runners-up Croatia are waiting for their opponents in the upcoming stage.

Croatia's Ivan Perisic had a scoring chance in the first seconds of the game but failed at Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium.

Dries Mertens wasted a chance for Belgium by shooting wide in one on one in the 13th minute.

Belgian player Yannick Carrasco's challenge on Croatia's Andrej Kramaric in the 15th minute was first given a penalty but after a Video Assistant Referee (VAR) review, it was ruled out due to an offside.

Croatia veteran Luka Modric was ruled offside by the VAR in a promising position in the 29th minute.

Several Belgium attempts were deflected by the Croatian defense and the first half ended goalless.

In the second half, Modric and Marcelo Brozovic's attempts at Belgium's net were denied by goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois.

Romelu Lukaku, who got into the game in the second half, placed a promising header into Dominik Livakovic's hands in the 49th minute.

Lukaku missed another chance when his shot to empty goal got out from the right post in the 60th minute, then, two minutes later, his header was inches over the opposition goal.

Lukaku could not finish another chance for Belgium in the six-yard box in the 90th minute.

Belgium's several promising goal chances were denied by Croatia's defense and goalie, and the game ended with 0-0 draw.

Meanwhile, Morocco topped Group F to march to the last 16 in a World Cup for the first time since 1986.

Called the Atlas Lions, Morocco became the first African team to win a World Cup group in the 21st century.

source: News Feed
This news is a total 48 time has been read
UYARI: Küfür, hakaret, rencide edici cümleler veya imalar, inançlara saldırı içeren, imla kuralları ile yazılmamış,
Türkçe karakter kullanılmayan ve büyük harflerle yazılmış yorumlar onaylanmamaktadır.
This news yet comment has been added .
Other News
All Rights Reserved © May 2014 US Muslims | Unauthorized and the resources published.
Haber Scripti: CM Bilişim