Greek Cypriot Administration: Ruling party wins election

Greek Cypriot Administration: Ruling party wins election

Right-wing Democratic Rally Party comes first with 30.68 percent of the vote

LEFKOSA (AA) - The ruling right-wing Democratic Rally Party (DISI) has won the Greek Cypriot administration’s parliamentary elections on Sunday, according to the Interior Ministry.

According to the unofficial election results from the Interior Ministry, the chairman Averof Neophytou’s DISI party claimed 30.68 percent of the vote - a 3.7 percent dip from the previous elections in 2011.

They were followed by the communist Progressive Party of Working People (AKEL) with 25.67 percent, 7.1 percent less than in 2011.

The Democratic Party, or DIKO, came in third place with 14.49 percent of the vote.

The far-right National Popular Front (ELAM) party will be represented in parliament for the first time in Greek Cypriot administration’s history, having claimed 3.71 percent of the votes.

Voter turnout was 67.77 percent. A total 542,915 people were eligible to vote.

According to the Interior Ministry, the vote percentages of the parties are as follows:

DISI 30.68 percent, AKEL 25,67 percent, DIKO 14,49 percent, the Movement for Social Democracy or EDEK 6.18 percent, the Unity of Citizens 6.01 percent, Solidarity Movement 5.24 percent, Ecological and Environmental Movement 4.81 percent, ELAM 3.71 percent.

Kaynak:Source of News

This news has been read 464 times in total

UYARI: Küfür, hakaret, rencide edici cümleler veya imalar, inançlara saldırı içeren, imla kuralları ile yazılmamış,
Türkçe karakter kullanılmayan ve büyük harflerle yazılmış yorumlar onaylanmamaktadır.
Previous and Next News