UPDATE - Russia claims it thwarted 2 Ukrainian drone attacks over Moscow region

UPDATE - Russia claims it thwarted 2 Ukrainian drone attacks over Moscow region

Ukrainian drones were detected, destroyed by air defense forces, says Russian Defense Ministry

UPDATES WITH STATEMENT FROM MOSCOW GOVERNOR

By Burc Eruygur

ISTANBUL (AA) - Russia on Monday claimed that it foiled two Ukrainian drone attacks over the country’s Moscow region.

“On August 21, at about 06:50 a.m. Moscow time (0350GMT), an attempt by the Kyiv regime to carry out a terrorist attack with an aircraft-type unmanned aerial vehicle was thwarted,” a statement by the Russian Defense Ministry said on Telegram.

The statement said that the drone was detected by air defense forces over the Moscow region and “suppressed by means of electronic warfare.”

It further said that the drone crashed near the village of Pokrovskoye in Moscow region’s Ruzsky district, adding that there were no casualties.

A later statement claimed that another drone attack was foiled at 08:16 a.m. Moscow time (0516GMT) after the drone was detected and destroyed by air defense forces over the Istrinsky district of the Moscow region.

Moscow Governor Andrey Vorobyov said on Telegram that debris of the drone fell on a garden house in Istrinsky, injuring two people.

At the same time, Russian media reported that flights from and to Moscow’s airports were temporarily restricted.

Russia's Federal Air Transport Agency later stated the restriction was lifted at 08:30 a.m. Moscow time (0530GMT) and that Moscow's airports were operating normally as of 09:00 a.m. Moscow time (0600GMT).

Ukrainian authorities have not yet commented on the claims.

Drone strikes inside Russia have dramatically increased in recent months, with authorities accusing Ukraine of being behind them.

Although Kyiv has not claimed responsibility, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy said in late July that the attacks on Russian territory are an “inevitable, natural and absolutely fair process.”

Kaynak:Source of News

This news has been read 82 times in total

ADD A COMMENT to TO THE NEWS
UYARI: Küfür, hakaret, rencide edici cümleler veya imalar, inançlara saldırı içeren, imla kuralları ile yazılmamış,
Türkçe karakter kullanılmayan ve büyük harflerle yazılmış yorumlar onaylanmamaktadır.
Previous and Next News